Celebrations for Good

Celebrations for Good

Eastern Bank believes in the power of recognizing and celebrating the outstanding work of community leaders and partner organizations. Not only are celebrations acknowledgements of accomplishment, they are also an opportunity for leaders of nonprofit  and for-profit businesses as well as civic leaders to gather and establish deeper collaborations, further strengthening our communities.

Every year, Eastern Bank honors local leaders for their impact in our communities. We honor individuals throughout our footprint with Community Advocacy Awards and we also shine a spotlight on one individual with our Social Justice Award for their accomplishments in making a deep impact to further social justice. 

Meet our 2018 Social Justice Award winner and Community Advocacy Award winners below: 


2018 RECIPIENT OF THE SOCIAL JUSTICE AWARD: Paula Johnson, M.D., M.P.H., President of Wellesley College

Paula Johnson

Paula A. Johnson, president of Wellesley College, is an innovator recognized the world over for advancing, promoting, and defending women’s education, health, and well-being. This critically important work is deeply informed by her broad range of experience as a pathbreaking physician-scientist and educator who is an expert in health care, public health, and health policy. With a remarkable track record of accomplishments—including founding the Connors Center for Women’s Health and Gender Biology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital—she has led in the field of women’s health, taking an approach to biology that integrates insights from sociology, economics, and many other fields.










Deb Ansourlian

Deb Ansourlian, Executive Director, Girls Inc. of Lynn

Phyllis Barajas

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Conexión and Eastern Bank Trustee

Sue Chandler

Executive Director, DOVE (DOmestic Violence Ended), Inc.

Cathy Duffy Cullity

Cathy Duffy Cullity CEO of Girls, Inc. of NH

Andi Genser

Andi Genser, Former Executive Director, WE CAN

Klare Shaw

Klare Shaw, National Director of Programs Liberty Mutual


Sarah-Ann Shaw

Sarah-Ann Shaw, Outspoken Activist Former Journalist

Gina Scaramella

Executive Director, Boston Area Rape Crisis Center-BARCC

Niki Tsongas

Niki Tsongas, Former Congresswoman U.S Representative MA 3rd District


Click Here to View a List of our Previous Social Justice Award Winners